Power of Prayer

If you would have asked me a little over a year ago whether I believed in prayer I probably would have said yes.  But after this weekend I’m not sure whether I truly knew about the real tangible effects that prayer can have and how much we all need it.  This weekend God revealed to me how He can work through us to affect the world by giving me the opportunity to pray over people at Fells Point and the Discovering Christ Conference.When the opportunity to pray over people came up on Friday night, I’ll admit, I was pretty nervous.  Just over a year ago I was reluctant to talk about Jesus and now I would be joining my brothers in Christ to pray over people!  As much as I wanted to find a way to avoid it, I knew that God rarely gives us opportunities to serve when we think we’re ready but when He thinks we’re ready, so I said yes.  It was probably one of the best decisions I’d made in a while.

While many people at Fells Point graced us with their time to pray over them, one woman named Janet stood out to me.  We saw her standing alone outside of a bar smoking and when asked if she would like prayer she said yes, especially to make sure she got back home safely.  While we prayed over her I felt called to tell her how much Jesus loved her, that she was a daughter of God and worthy of His love.  It was a love that had been revealed to me a year ago and a love I want to share with others.  I don’t presume to know how Jesus works in people’s lives but the tears in her eyes made me feel that He was definitely with us and she was experiencing His real and powerful love for the first time in a long time.

After Friday night I was all charged up for the privilege to pray again at Discovering Christ Conference!  Somehow God had used the few hours of sleep I got to renew me more than I had been for a while!  It was truly a blessing to have this opportunity because of the fervent belief that each person we prayed with held in the power of prayer and in the power of the Holy Spirit which they prayed to receive once more.  To see people walk away with a renewed fire and to tell us how Jesus led us to speak the exact words they needed to hear was truly a miracle!  While praying at the conference was slightly different than at the bars of Fells Point one thought struck me; the people we prayed with at the conference were very similar to the people of Fells Point.  People of totally different walks of life prayed for and needed the encouragement that only Jesus can provide and were humbly willing to lets us pray with them to Him.  No matter who they were, they all recognized the power that prayer could have and that in turn left me humbled.

This weekend of prayer was truly a blessing the likes of which I had yet to experience.  Having the opportunity to pray with fellow brothers and sisters in Christ not only helped them but helped me in ways I couldn’t even imagine.  All I can say is please pray, pray earnestly every day and you’ll be surprised where Jesus takes you, just hold on for the ride!

One thought on “Power of Prayer

Leave a Reply

